Under Heaven

36 thoughts on “Under Heaven

  1. Excellent! At age 62, retired and full time traveler-I keep saying we have all the time in the world to do what we want. But there is never enough time! This was so good-I have to rethink our “time!”

    1. This (the 60’s) is when time becomes something ton tussle with, isn’t it? I am trying hard to become both a planner and an appreciators-savored… It’s hard work for me! Thanks, Debbie!

      Pam

      1. Very sandwiched as we had first grandchild at 60, just welcomed our second and watching step dad battling terminal cancer with only months to live….tough times but the best times!

      2. Oh, Debbie! Definitely sandwiched! An honor to be present, but it’s hard, hard work, isn’t it? And of curse, we want to be vibrant presences in our grandchildren’s lives, too… Definitely a wonderful challenge…

  2. This is a lovely post. “Our seventies,” said an elderly writer, “are a time to be *in earnest.* She’s right, of course, but the tragedy is, about forty percent of us are robbed by aging and disease of the very faculties that would allow us to be “in earnest.” That why our earnestness must start even earlier, in our forties and fifties and sixties, so that what we do may be decided upon with clarity and performed with determination and grace.

    One day at work, one of my salesmen, Patrick, sent me out to the shop floor to talk with Vincent, our foreman, to see about getting one of Patrick’s orders to the customer. Patrick and Vincent had been having a dispute and they didn’t want to talk to each other, so Patrick sent me out to act as a go-between. Fine. I tell Vincent what has to be done, and he blows me off: “I don’t have time for this!” he snapped. I thought to myself, “Vincent, this is an order for one of our customers–one of *your* customers. If you don’t have time for *this*, what *do* you have time for?”

    I ask myself and I ask you, in regard to all the things that we *know* are important, “If you don’t have time for *this,* what *do* you have time for?

    1. John, that goes right to the point; so aptly put. Time to burn away all the distracting, self-interested nonsense, and deal with what’s really important. The story of your colleagues is a wonderful example; thank you!

  3. Thank you for this post my dear Pam, I will forever remember what your boss said that time is all we’ve got and we have to use it to the full although same as you I feel there is never enough time. I hope that I will come to the point where I will be able to reach the age of 60 and remember wonderful moments. I am pretty sure you have used your time to the best you have and I hope your boy Jim will enjoy his life and you will always be there. Please send my regard, hugs, kisses, love and prayer to dear Kim.
    P.S. I think I am always a crone even at a young age. lol 🙂
    God bless to all of you – always with love from this side of my world and I am always dreaming of the time where we all have the time in the world. 🙂

    1. Shine, Thank you for this lovely response–so nice to find on an early Sunday morning! I will give Kim your best–she will appreciate that! I appreciate you and your thoughtful, positive posts. Blessings to you and yours!

      Pam

      PS–We like to say some people, even at a very young age, are ‘old souls’— with a wisdom that comes from somehwere besides years. I think that’s what you must be!

      1. I like to think I am an ‘old soul’ Pam, I guess I am as I love classics and learning and talking with wonderful people like you…you are a blessing to Kim as she to you…a friendship we will always treasure. Thinking about Kim makes me think of my friend Remy, such great people with lots of love and positivity despite their situation. They always inspires. Lots of love for all of you as always my dear Pam. 🙂

  4. “But you know, the crone is not so awful–the wise and wrinkled archetype who doesn’t have to worry about the size of her waist, the vibrance of her make-up, the trim and fashionable cut of her cloth. The crone can walk the dog in denim capri pants, an old, paint-stained t-shirt, and a pair of scuffed up magenta slippers, and the neighbors don’t bat an eye.”

    This is a lovely post and philosophical introspection is what I love the most.

    I am also a retired person and I can relate to a few things. 🙂

    I hope Jim gets the job and Kim feels peaceful and you spend enough time with both of them.

    I have a suggestion: You can allow your readers to like comments too. You can check it in Dashboard—>Settings—Sharing—>Discussion if I recall right.

    Have a lovely week ahead.

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

  5. As Dr. Seuss said, “How did it get so late so soon?” We never have enough time, so all we can do is make the most of the time given to us. You have beautifully captured that desire in your post. Good luck to your son!

  6. Pam,

    I SO identify with this post!! I too wonder how in the heck my young and strong body turned into middle-aged flubbiness, big toe bunions, scratchy heels, skin tags, under-arm “wubbies” and Connect-The-Dots on my hands?!

    Time IS what we have and these days I am actively involved in enjoying each second. It’s never too late to appreciate time and work WITH it and not against it!

    Thanks for this one! 🙂

    1. Oh, skin tags! I forgot to talk about skin tags!!! I was in a meeting last night sitting across from a sign that echoes your words, It is never too late for happily ever after to begin. We are in the age of appreciation, my friend!

  7. Beautifully written and I particularly liked the unexpected visits to books that I have read or not read to illustrate points. That’s fun! I read a ton of blogs and no one has done that before!

    Yeah I agree with the advantages of being a crone, but how come men can have those same advantages and we all still collude and pretend that they are vibrant and sexy at 60? Definition: ‘Crone ~ an old woman who is thin and ugly.’ – Charming.

    I wonder what it would be to reach 60 and not look back? No reminiscing, but like a child just keep looking forward? I wonder how that would affect folks pysche and possibly their perception of elusive time?

  8. Hi. I loved the part about your doggy no longer having two speeds, manic and asleep. I can imagine her snoring away. I am older than you, but trust me, I am not a crone, yet. Though I never tell folks my real age, because society tends to lean towards the “crone” idea once you reach a “certain age. I am glad I found your posts, and my thinking is “it’s now or never”, cause we do not know what is going to occur in the next minute.

  9. My best friend, my twenty-six year old daughter is moving to New York next fall and I want a time turner so badly. It’s all gone so quickly that I find myself panicking, unsure I am making my time with her as quality as it should be.
    Your reflections are so well written – I love them!

    1. Thank you, Susan–I appreciate your lovely words! I know you and your daughter are appreciating your time together–how exciting for her, and scary, and how life-changing for you both!

Leave a Reply

