Fifth Grade Fire; Fifth Grade Ice

Schoolwork

16 thoughts on “Fifth Grade Fire; Fifth Grade Ice

  1. I moved in the fifth grade too – and had my first man teacher. Mr. Geary. I will never forget him. I loved him and gave him homemade christmas cookies from grandma that he loved. So many memories come gushing back as I read your post like always. I moved six times growing up. Always a challenge going to a new school and making new friends and adjusting. But it made us who we are. eh? and you became a wonderful teacher from it! Hugs!

    1. Ah, Jodi, another nice shared experience! I love that your creative nurturing–sharing cookies already!–was in full force even when you were ten years old.

      I agree–all those moves made me learn to adapt and to reach out to meet new people. I am sure your six moves helped hone your wonderful abilities of engaging and connecting! (Seems funny to me, now, to think of how rare and wonderful a male teacher in K-5 was back in the mid-1960’s!)

      1. I didn’t even think about that with the cookies – but I guess you are right – LOL! It just blurted out in my thoughts 🙂 Yes – I agree – we are who we are because of what we went through. 🙂 And I think you are GREAT! 🙂

  2. Oh good grief, I love this. hahaha. How did we ever survive our childhoods?! Thank goodness for Miss Weber! I had the highs and lows of education as well. In fact, you reminded me that i wrote about them a long time ago. First I wrote about Miss Slack who tortured me with emotional abuse (IMO) in 3rd grade and then Mr. P who was a fabulous teacher in 4th. I’ll post a link to the latter here for you, but feel free to delete if you don’t want it on your blog.

  3. You were blessed to have known the extremes and fortunate to not have had “ice” very long. I’m sure that you were aware of the special needs of children who had only had “ice” from adults. The experience on both ends contributed to your great teaching abilities. Loved the account.

    1. Our system is unfair in many ways, and one is that the ‘ice’ tends to congregate in the very places ‘fire’ is most essential… Thanks for reading and your lovely comment, my friend!

  4. In third grade I had a wonderful teacher named Mrs. Green who was so like you describe your Mr. Smith. I love her to this day. Teachers I encountered in my young life made profound differences – good and bad – and I wonder if they had any idea of their huge influence. Loved this post!! Also, bonus points for using the word “floozie”. Perfect!

    1. I think the good ones get it!!! Yay for Mrs. Green…now I appreciate the work that want into all that smooth planning. Weren’t we lucky??? And I love the word ‘Floozie’!!!

  5. I moved in Grade 4 and had a male teacher in Grade 6. This story sounded so familiar to me. I felt like I went back in time. My Grade 10 Drama teacher was a drunk. I know because he lived next door. I had no respect for him and was sent to see the VP one time because of my attitude. First and only time. The VP (also a neighbour) was shocked to see me.

    1. Oh, my gosh, Cathy…my grade ten drama teacher was a drunk, too! He used to cover the little glass window in the classroom door with construction paper and pour himself a coffee cup full of toxic amber liquid…and all the spray mouthwash in the world could not hide the fumes. I had forgotten that! You had a firm backbone, even then…good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

