Don’t Let’s Go to the Vet’s Tonight

the-great-gretzky
I am perched on a little bench made for much shorter people to sit on. It’s so low to the ground, my knees form a roof peak. Tightly wound beneath them shudders my little dog, Greta, who is huddled and pressed and quivering uncontrollably. We’re in an immaculate green-tiled room room that is rimmed with locked cupboards. A metal topped table sits center stage.

A hum of voices, barks, and howls filters out from beyond a swinging door at the back.

We are waiting to see the veterinarian, my terrified pup and I. The kind, sweet vet tech has been in twice and taken Greta away, to be weighed, to have blood drawn. Both times, Greta went willingly enough, looking over her shoulder at me, making sure, maybe, that I wasn’t leaving her.

To her, this is a place where we leave her behind, in the care of strangers and the company of crazy companions, when we go away. This is the place where needles shine in fluorescent light, where harsh metal clippers make fast work of her nails, where a man with a shaved head pries her lips open and studies her teeth.

For me, this room provokes layers of memories. I have sat in examining rooms much like this one with other dogs, aging dogs; I have prayed, in those rooms, for miracles, or at least reprieves. Sometimes those have arrived, and a loyal friend has bundled back into the car with me. Going home: home to try the new medication, the rub, the bath…the thing that we hope will make life comfortable, livable, longer for the pet who has come to be a beloved necessary presence.

Sometimes the visit ended in harsh reality, in bowing to time’s inexorability, in knowing we could not subject our liquid-eyed dog to a life of unending pain.

Greta looks up at me as I rub her silky, bony head. She shoots one message from her big black eyes: Homehomehomehomehomehome…

“You’re not staying tonight,” I murmur, soothingly.

Then I hope I’m not lying. The tech, Melissa, says the dog has lost four pounds. Suddenly, Greta empties her big water bowl every day. At night, she wakes, panting heavily. Her scratching shakes the house.

I have found a lump on her back; there’s another on her belly. When James and I took her out to the car, she had trouble, my nimble little hound, jumping up onto the seat.

I am confronted with the reality of time’s relentless march.

***********

Cleaning files the other day, Mark found our adoption papers for Greta. We looked at the date–2005–and looked at each other and shook our heads. Eleven years.

An eye-blink.

We got the dog at the animal shelter. Something pushed us, almost physically, to stop one Sunday afternoon. It was spring, and still cold; the death of our beloved Holmsie was not that far behind us. We weren’t sure we were ready for another dog.

We’ll just look, we said.

The kennels were full; volunteers were bringing food around, and big dogs were jumping against the chain link walls joyously. Little dogs were running in circles and yipping. Puppies were tumbling obliviously.

But Greta–she was huddled in a corner of her kennel, quiet, sad, so very alone. She had the brown and black and white markings that belied a beagle ancestor. Holmsie, too, had been a beagle descendant; she also had a strong German Shepherd strain–she was big, solid, a rock.

Greta must have had terrier forebears; she was smaller. She was quivering.

“Look,” I said to Mark and Jim who were laughing at the antics of a fat, woolly beast whose name tag read, “Roseanne.” Roseanne was jumping against her cage walls to get the volunteer’s attention, then dropping down to the ground to preen and flirt.They came over to where I knelt by Greta’s kennel, and the little dog crept over to see. The boyos knelt down too, and the pup put a paw on the chain link, stuck her snout through the metal to try to lick Jim’s hand.

A volunteer, crepe-soled, stood suddenly behind us.

“I’ve never seen her be so interested in anyone,” she said. “Would you like to meet her?”

And in that moment the die was cast.

We had to wait, though, for shots and neutering. We had to be–no pun intended–vetted by the staff; they wanted to know our house was clean enough, our yard was fenced, we had no toddlers. Greta was not a dog for a toddler household. We waited several weeks in a cold, wet spring, when Mark would toss at night, and murmur, “Do you think she needs a blanket?”

The staff brought her home to us, watched the interaction, watched her settle in, and finally, satisfied, they went away, and Greta was our dog—our twitchy, nervous, sensitive, ill-treated dog.

The staff had told us stories about her origins. How they found her huddled in a corner of a kennel–someone had apparently driven up, after dark,and lofted her, dirty and flea-ridden, over the ten foot high fencing that kept the dogs from bolting. How the former volunteer who’d discovered her had clamped a leash around her neck and dragged her, as she wailed and whimpered and resisted, across the pebbled driveway to intake. How after that, she turned her head away and didn’t want the company of human or beast.

Until we came. It felt like she was always our dog. It felt like if we just loved her enough, we could heal the wounds and bury the memories and make her over into a loving, trusting pup.

The first night, she paced and searched. She dragged her tupperware bowl of kibble under the dining room table and huddled over it. She didn’t eat the food during daylight. When we got up in the morning, the dish was empty, and the dog was quivering under the table.

We cooed and held out hands to sniff. That afternoon, I took her out into the fenced in side yard with me, company while I was weeding.  She paced and prowled as I inched my way down a wild, weedy flowerbed. She wandered over to the sun-warmed cement sidewalk  three feet from where I worked. She circled and sat, and suddenly, I realized she was sleeping–deep and urgent, sleeping as if she had never slept before. And I thought that finally, finally, the little dog felt safe.

She came to love us, Greta did, sometimes treating Mark and Jim like they were annoying brothers. I was always, to her, the alpha dog, the center of safety. Often, she followed me around the house, upstairs and down, just staying by my side.

We took her out to fenced in ball fields and she would soar around the base paths, running and running until she ran herself out. She always came back; this was not a dog we would ever have to worry about wandering away.

We took her for long evening walks.

We bought her toys. We realized she had no idea of how to play.

She settled in; our home became hers, but she never got comfortable with visitors.  No matter how much we loved her, claimed her, kept her safe, Greta was who she was: a nervous dog who didn’t much like change or company.

************
She moved with us, five years ago, settled into a new home after some days of consternation, but changed her nighttime place. Greta had always snuggled into a corner of the couch to snore the night away. After the move, she slept with us, starting in a cozy dog bed we bought for her.  When we woke up in the morning, she’d be snuggled between our feet.

She was never sick. We took her in for yearly visits, practiced flea and heart-worm prevention, walked her in our new neighborhood. The only time she needed doctoring was the night she greedily swallowed chunks of pork bone, which lodged in her intestines, making her feverish, taking her to the animal hospital for three scary nights.

We bought soft food instead of kibble for the healing time; she refused to eat bare kibble ever again. She gained three pounds.

They started calling her a ‘senior dog’ when she turned eight, and we snorted: Greta was still spunky and nimble and anxious, each night after dinner, for me to get the leash and head outside to wander. We didn’t register the facts of age.

***********
But sitting on that bench, I had to face the truth. We don’t really know how old she is. One vet guessed that Greta was eight months old when we adopted her; another was sure she was at least two years. We settled for the younger age; we gave her a birthday in May.

So the truth is that the little hound is at least eleven. She’s 77 in dog years–and maybe more than that.

The truth is, that she has moved from ‘senior’ to ‘elderly.’

The truth is, she will not be with us forever.

**************
The nice vet, the young man with the shaved head, wearing his green polo shirt emblazoned with the name of the practice, came smiling in to see the little dog; she turned and hid her head beneath my legs. He coaxed her out with gentle hands; he stroked her head and examined her lumps and he searched for anything internally that might alarm.

The lumps, he said, were harmless cysts.

She had, he surmised, a UTI.

Her lower back was raw from some sort of dermatitis.

And it was true: arthritis is setting in.

He sent us home with shampoo and pills–antibiotics and anti-itch pills. And when those are done, we can start the anti-arthritis pills; those are pills she’ll take now, forever.

*************

Oh, it could have been much worse.

I didn’t lie to my little friend; we will go home and start the medication regime, and maybe, tonight, she’ll sleep better than she has in a long time.

But time’s drumbeat is louder to me now, like that moment when the background noise–the thrumming of the furnace, or the backbeat of the band from the bar down over the hill–rears up and becomes the prominent, important sound. My little dog is entering those last days. I hope there will be years full of days in this era.

Our time with her will never feel endless again.

************

Once, jokingly, a few months after we got the dog, when she’d bared her teeth as he playfully tried to steal her rawhide bone,  Mark said to me, “Tell me why we felt compelled to get this nasty little beast!”

I was stumped for an answer. Why do we invest so deeply in these furry friends, these emissaries from another land, who change our lives and shed in our houses and demand our love and care and time?

But we do. On sad days when the house is empty of the tick-tacking of unclipped nails, the residue of hair on the couch, then we wander and we grieve.

“Never again,” we say, “never again. This hurts too much.”

And then the car stops, of its own free will, it seems, and the little beast comes to the fence…

I cannot find a reason; maybe this is one of those things that goes deeper than thought or practicality, some kind of inherited need to which we willingly accede.  For we need her just as much, I know, as she needs us.

**********

This time, I  clip the leash on and take the dog out to where young James waits. Greta looks at him, sniffs, and raises her snout snootily in the air; Jim has been petting the fluffy, caramel colored cat that prowls the practice. Greta is not amused at this defection. But she lets him take her outside while I pay the bill and gather the pills and head out into a sunny, cloud-scudded autumn day–a day when I’ll take my dog, healthy for the most part, home.

21 thoughts on “Don’t Let’s Go to the Vet’s Tonight

      1. just a teensy touch of empty nest blues – moved my youngest son out last night into his own place. It is not far away, but I am going to miss him being around. We both worked from home, so he was my office mate too 🙂 ❤
        He is getting married in April, and wanted to be out on his own for a bit first. I understand and am so so proud of him. 🙂

  1. In both my heart and my mind, I’ve always given animals, be they pets or not, a wide berth. They are animals and, by definition, different from humans, a fact they remind us of every day the world over when we violate their territory, either accidentally or deliberately.

    That said, many animals bring us enormous comfort, and I have loved–truly loved–one particular animal in my life, a dog–and it wasn’t even my pet. It belonged to my sister’s family: Chestnut, an exuberant Yorkshire terrier who knew no boundaries either in guarding his family from dangers he perceived or in bestowing his love on everyone he met. He was, by far, the most affectionate dog I’ve ever known, leaping up to lick my face at the slightest invitation, and equally generous in the amount of affection he would receive, happy always to be petted or content to curl up on our laps and share warmth with us. He gave us many years of happiness.

    As happens with every living thing, however, Chestnut aged. He suffered from arthritis badly in his final year, which sapped his once remarkable energy. Even more grievous to me, he developed cataracts and simply could no longer see. He bumped into household objects and I was always afraid he was truly going to hurt himself. Worse, it was just wrenching to see this beautiful animal blind–*and aware that he was blind*–deprived of his necessary senses. The time came, of course, when my sister had to take him to the vet and have him put to sleep. She did not want to do it, and when word came to all of us that Chestnut had finally passed away, there wasn’t a dry eye among us. My sister grieved for several years. Finally, though, she felt able to get another dog, also a Yorkshire terrier, and Rocky has done much over the last three years or so to ease her heartache. My heartache, however, remains. So does my divided mind over the place animals should have in the human scheme of things, and my divided mind over the difference we perceive between helping an aging animal end its suffering and our reluctance to extend the same compassion to our family members and our fellow human beings. We extend that compassion to animals because they cannot care for themselves. Yet, humans find themselves in exactly the same state. But we have not come to any general agreement about euthanasia in society, despite the wealth of examples from our experience with animals to guide us. I find our reluctance to tackle the issue troubling.

    1. I read a book long ago about the domestication of dogs–by naturalists whose names you’d recognize and which I can’t remember at the moment—with two theories of how dogs came to be household members and partners with humans. One theory had it that dogs followed bands of hunting humans, and ate their scraps. The other had it that HUMANS followed bands of hunting dogs, and ate THEIR scraps. That really gave me pause; I had to shake out my theory of inherent superiority…

      I think the reluctance to allow people control over their own lives has dark roots in religions…having grown up being taught that suicide was ALWAYS a ‘mortal’ sin, no matter what. I really believe that clouds our rational thinking about the issue. If someone is of sound mind and desperately ill…

      1. “The other had it that HUMANS followed bands of hunting dogs, and ate THEIR scraps. That really gave me pause; I had to shake out my theory of inherent superiority…”–Indeed! My wish for humans to remember that animals are animals is rooted in my own sense of human superiority. The folly of “Animal Rights” is that animals do not even know that they have rights and cannot participate in the debate. Yet, if it could be shown that humankind followed dogs, and not the other way around, that would change a few things for me. I think you are right about the baleful influence of religion on our sense of control over our own lives. We are not alive simply to help stave off other people’s fear of death. If, as you say, “someone is of sound mind and desperately ill…” we ought to do all we can to ease that suffering and, when necessary, end that life with dignity. To have life without the ability to live it is pointless. Thank you, Pam, for a fine essay, and thank you as well for tolerating my lengthy response. I did not mean it to be so long!

  2. It’s going on 3 years since we lost our sweet Daisy at only 9 years old. You hit the nail on the head with:
    “Never again,” we say, “never again. This hurts too much.”
    We know we’ll add another fur baby someday, but I’m still not ready.
    Your writing never fails to touch me, Pam. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Savoring These Dog Days – Oh, Rev/oir!

  4. Oh, Pam—-

    How I wept over this post! I too have loved and lost so many dear furry companions. I too have said to my husband, ‘This hurts too much.” But over and over again, we keep adopting.

    Someone said to me once that the reason pets live shorter lives than we humans is that they are smart enough to figure it all out way before we do. When their mission on earth is over, they gladly go to the other side, where one day we will all be together again.

    Thanks so much for this post.

    Still sniffing,

    Jane

Leave a Reply

